Highland Black Mocha Stout

I am doing a special, celebratory tasting in honor of sticking with a diet long enough to lose 15 lbs. Hooray me! Hooray cupcakes and beer!

To highlight the diversity of beer flavors I decided to do a dessert tasting. I have paired Highland Brewing Co.‘s Mocha Stout with Sophie P. Cakes‘ Mint Chocolate Chip cupcake.

Sophie P. Cakes is a Lafayette cupcakery, and in my opinion, one of the best I have ever been to. The cakes are always fresh, and the flavors are unique without being nauseatingly saccharine. Mint and chocolate has to be one of my favorite flavor combinations of all time, so I was over-the-moon excited when they had this little guy the day I went to get my victory cupcake. The cake was very minty and bright green with dots of small chocolate chunks. The icing was a great compliment and the whole thing sang of wonder and joy.

Highland is the largest micro brewery out of Asheville, NC, America’s home-town of beer. During my recent visit I was able to take a walking tour of the brewery and taste a large portion of their beer labels. The Black Mocha Stout was one of my favorites. It is hearty and sweet in all the ways a classic stout ought to be.

Aroma: Hoppy with sweet caramel notes and a lot of oats. Very distinct coffee aroma- this by far is the strongest sent.

Flavor: Hops in the flavor add to the bitterness quality found in coffee, a lot of coffee flavor with some of the complex characteristics of caramel. Some chocolate, but mostly coffee.

Body/Mouthfeel: creamy and smooth with thick foam

Color: Dark brown, opaque in the glass

The rich coffee flavor and sweetness paired very well with the chocolate and aromatic mint of the cupcake. The heavier body of the stout also paired well with the cake texture. A very good combination. This stout makes a great dessert beer and I would love to try it in a beer float. Also, more cupcakes.

Photos courtesy of Mr. Andre LaFleur

-Fearn

Leave a Reply

